Changes for Baldwin County legislative seats on ballot

By Guy Busby
Government Editor
Posted 11/4/22

BAY MINETTE — Baldwin County voters will select at least three new state legislative representatives and decide whether the county will have more home rule Tuesday when they go to the polls in …

This item is available in full to subscribers.

Please log in to continue

Log in

Changes for Baldwin County legislative seats on ballot


BAY MINETTE — Baldwin County voters will select at least three new state legislative representatives and decide whether the county will have more home rule Tuesday when they go to the polls in the 2022 general election.

Also on the ballot in unincorporated areas of Baldwin County is a resolution that would allow the County Commission to exercise powers granted to come counties under the Alabama Limited Self Government Act.

County Commissioner Matt McKenzie said Tuesday that the referendum would allow the commission to enforce some ordinances to prevent nuisances, such as noise restrictions, that often generate complaints from residents.

"We're getting complaints about dogs and loud noises that we can't enforce," McKenzie said. "I just feel like that a lot of the citizens out there don't realize that we're not trying to make it difficult we're trying to help you."

All seats in the Alabama Legislature and the four positions on the Baldwin County Commission are up for election on Tuesday.

In Baldwin County, all of the current legislative and commission seats are held by Republicans.

Three long-time Baldwin County members of the Alabama House of Representatives will not be returning when the new term begins in 2023. The seats held by Steve McMillan, Joe Faust and Harry Shiver will have new members representing districts covering much of Baldwin County.

McMillan, who had represented District 95 since 1980, died in April after announcing that he would not run for re-election. Running for the seat to represent the south Baldwin district are Frances Holk-Jones of Foley, the Republican nominee, and Democrat Richard Brackner.

In District 94, which had been served by Rep. Joe Faust since 2002, Republican Jennifer Fidler will face Libertarian Margaret "Maggie" Helveston. Fidler defeated Faust in the Republican primary for the seat serving the Fairhope area.

House District 64, which includes much of Central Baldwin County, will have Republican Donna Givens facing Libertarian Jeff May. The seat had been held by Rep. Harry Shiver since 2006.

Representatives in two other Baldwin County House seats, Matt Simpson in District 96 and Alan Baker in District 66, do not have general election opposition in their bids for re-election.

The two state Senate seats that currently represent Baldwin County also have incumbents who do not face opposition. Sen. Greg Albritton in District 22 and Sen. Chris Elliott in District 32 will return to office.

The Spanish Fort area will have a new state senator. When legislative districts were redrawn following the 2020 census, Spanish Fort was moved from District 32 to Senate District 33. In District 33, incumbent Democrat Vivian Davis Figures will face Republican challenger Pete Riehm.

Most of District 33 is in Mobile County.

In county commission races, incumbents Jeb Ball and Billie Jo Underwood do not face general election challenges in their bids for re-election representing District 1 and District 3 respectively.

Incumbent District 4 Republican Charles "Skip" Gruber faces Democrat Alec Barnett Jr. in his bid for re-election.

In District 2, Matt McKenzie won the Republican nomination to replace retiring Commissioner Joe Davis. After Davis retired from the commission at the end of July, McKenzie was named to fill the remaining portion of his term. Davis faces no general election opposition and will take office for a full term later this month.

Two new members of the Baldwin County Board of Education do not face opposition on the general election ballot. Republican April Bradley is unopposed in her bid for the District 7 seat now held by Shannon Cauley. Republican Rondi Kirby is unopposed in her race for the District 4 seat now held by Janay Dawson.

Board of education members serve six-year terms. Every two years, two or three of the seven seats come up for election.

Several Baldwin County races on the ballots have candidates without general election opposition.

Sheriff Huey "Hoss" Mack, who has served since 2006, will return for a fifth term.

District Attorney Robert Wilters, Circuit Judge Scott Taylor and Coroner Brian Pierce will also return to office without general election opposition.

Stay in the know on the Alabama Gulf Coast. Sign up for our free email newsletter.

* indicates required